red-interior-still-life-on-a-blue-table-1947Red Interior: Still Life on a Blue Table, Henri Matisse 1947

On Saturday, I finally made it to the Matisse exhibition at the Tate Modern. After tea and a chat in the Members Room, looking out on a rather rain-drenched London, my friend and I made our way to the exhibition. Although I was expecting good things, I was still taken aback by the sheer scale of the exhibition: there is a truly impressive collection of Matisse’s works and each room goes from strength to strength, with carefully selected themed cut-outs. The above was one of my very favourite examples of his work (although it was hard to choose from so many, and I admit I went a little crazy with my postcard buying in the gift shop afterwards); I love its vibrancy and the bold use of pattern and colour that is such a distinctive part of Matisse’s vision. I am planning on returning to this exhibition again and again and can’t recommend it enough. – Miranda¬†