photoI had a very literary weekend, kicking it off by going to a talk on A Sense of Place, the concluding event of the Daunt Books Spring Festival. I was so pleased I managed to make it to Daunt Books in the end and was only sorry I hadn’t been able to attend more talks. A discussion on the importance of place and the relevance of travel writing couldn’t have had a better setting, as I sat amidst shelves of books organised by place: Corsica, France, Central Europe; I felt the world opening up before me. I especially enjoyed hearing Tracy Chevalier’s talk and was thrilled to get a book signed by her. I do hope Daunt Books makes the festival a regular event. A little sleepy after my late night, Saturday saw me off to Oxford to hear Kate Williams speak at the Oxford Literary Festival. Another fantastic experience! Kate Williams is a funny and engaging speaker and had me rushing off to read her latest book, Josephine, immediately afterwards. I’ve got a big stack of books to add to my TBR pile now – it’s a good job the Easter holidays are coming! – Miranda