homingIt’s always so thrilling to discover a new author. I vaguely remember my Mum having a collection of Elswyth Thane’s novels on our bookshelves in New York, but hadn’t thought anything about them, until I saw they are now available very cheaply as Kindle editions (apparently her novels are hard to find now, so this is excellent news). I’ve started reading Homing (which I’ve since realised is the last in the Williamsburg series – typical!) and am absolutely loving it. Set at the start of World War 2, Thane brilliantly transports the reader back to another time. The novel spans generations and continents, set in the States as well as England, following the stories of different families, linked by history and marriage. I’ll definitely want to read Thane’s other novels once I’ve finished this one.  – Miranda