jessie-willcox-smith-33

I loved this article about the importance of comfort reading for children, and adults too. So many wonderful authors are mentioned by the writer, who seems to be a kindred spirit of Old Fashioned Girls, and her words are an excellent reminder that literature’s value lies not in its literariness, but in the pleasure it gives its readers. English teachers are often pressured to force children into reading more ‘challenging’ texts, but I’d never really considered how much my younger students need the safety and security of their childhood favourites in that difficult transition between primary and secondary school. Maybe we should have a class read of something indulgent. Though the problem is, I don’t think they’d be that in to my childhood favourites…Malory Towers, anyone? – Rachel