mm-crop-dorothea-website

Happily for me, I’m only a short bus ride from beautiful Richmond, and I’ve been gradually exploring its many attractions. Drinks overlooking the river at Pitcher & Piano; supper at Bill’s; tea and chocolate at William Curley; more tea at Tea Box; walks along the river to Petersham Nurseries; trips to Richmond Theatre; picnics on Richmond Green and spending far too much money in Whole Foods. Oh yes, being south of the river is actually rather a lot of fun. Particularly impressive is the wide amount of theatre on offer. I love Richmond Theatre, but have also just discovered Orange Tree Theatre, which is  showing three separate plays that tell the story of George Eliot’s Middlemarch. Each play revolves around the book’s central characters: there’s Dorothea’s Story, The Doctor’s Story and Fred and Mary’s Story. I read Middlemarch years ago and, although I much prefer Dickens, Trollope and Austen to Eliot, I am intrigued to see these plays. Fortunately, tickets are reasonably priced from £14.50 – £22. If you’re lucky enough to be a student or under 26 there are some great concession offers too! – Miranda