Image

In what now seems like another life, I once spent two years working in a tiny office on the top floor of the Victoria and Albert Museum. My job was to research and write funding proposals for exhibitions, conservation projects and upcoming building work, and in the course of this role, I had the privilege to meet many fascinating people who taught me about a huge range of things. One of the most interesting projects I worked on was securing the funding for the new Textile Study Centre. Three years after I walked out of the Staff Entrance for the last time, the centre is finally opening. I hope some of you will be able to go on a tour; the magnificence of the V&A’s fashion and textile collection is remarkable, and only a tiny percentage is actually on display in the museum itself. Aside from enjoying the objects for their beauty, seeing how they are conserved and stored is also an education in itself. I’ll be booking myself on a tour as soon as I can! – Rachel