photo (14)Apple crisp is surely the perfect comfort food. I like to use the recipe my Mum always cooked, which comes from The Fannie Farmer Cookbook (Marion Cunningham edition). I grew up seeing this fat cookbook on our shelves, and I believe my Mum could make the griddlecakes recipe in her sleep. I gave a spare copy of the book to Rachel during her last visit, as I’m sure she’ll appreciate the wealth of classic American recipes it contains. Here’s the recipe for apple crisp:

5 cups peeled and sliced apples (I used Jazz apples)

3/4 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 pound butter, in small pieces

Preheat the oven to 180C (350F). Butter a 1 1/2 quart baking dish, spread the apples in it, and sprinkle 1/3 cup water on top. Combine the flour, sugar, cinnamon and salt in a bowl, and rub in the butter with your fingers until it resembles coarse crumbs. Spread evenly over the apples. Bake for about 30 minutes or until the crust is browned. I love to serve this with vanilla ice-cream.

 – Miranda