Image

One of my favourite places in New York is Madison Square Park (not to be confused with Madison Square Gardens). It’s a little wedge of green facing the Flatiron Building at 23rd Street and Fifth Avenue, and inside, underneath a magical canopy of fairy lights, is the Shakeshack stand. I spent many a sweltering summer evening sitting outside in the twilight, eating a burger, chatting with friends, and watching New York come alive for the night as the dusk descended. I miss Shakeshack most of all my favourite New York eating places; the burgers, fries and milkshakes are second to none, as are the super friendly servers. Imagine my joy, then, when I saw that the first UK branch of Shakeshack is opening up in Covent Garden on July 5th. A little bit of New York in London will go down very well with me! – Rachel