photo (1)_edited-1Banana Tea Loaf

This recipe was passed from my Grandmother, to my Mother, to me. It’s one of my favourite cakes, is a great way to use up old bananas, and is so simple to make.

8 oz self-raising flour

1/2 level tsp salt

4 oz butter

4 oz sultanas

4 oz cherries halved

2 eggs

1 lb ripe bananas, mashed

4 oz caster sugar

1 oz walnuts, coarsely chopped (optional)

Sift flour and salt in a large bowl. Add butter and rub in. Add any dry ingredients, fruit, sugar, cherries and walnuts. Add lightly beaten eggs and mashed bananas. Beat together with wooden spoon. Pour mixture into buttered loaf tin, bottom lined with greaseproof paper. Bake in 335F oven for 1 hour or until toothpick comes out clean when inserted in middle. Cool before removing from tin. This cake keeps very well (although I find it never lasts very long….).

Enjoy! – Miranda