perfect-jkt

I got some lovely presents for my birthday, but this little jewel is probably my favourite of them all. I love Felicity Cloake’s failsafe recipes for classic dishes that appear every week in The Guardian. I’m not of the Heston Blumenthal brigade when it comes to the kitchen; I like simple, strong flavours, and much prefer traditional meals to fanciful concoctions. Felicity Cloake shares my approach to food; she gathers a range of recipes for commonly cooked dishes, testing them all until she finds a perfect, gourmet version that will brighten up the everyday person’s dinner table. From fishcakes to flapjacks and chicken pie to chocolate mousse, Felicity shows how to make simple favourites that little bit extra fabulous. I can’t wait to cook my way through Perfect; I don’t think I’ll ever need to buy another cook book! – Rachel