Image

I’m currently having a love affair with the woodcut; I never cease to be amazed at the intricate detail that can be created from merely chopping away at a piece of wood. The talent and skill required to excel at this art form is phenomenal, and it seems a shame that woodcuts are not more valued by the establishment. Clare Leighton is one of my favourite woodcutters; her illustrations have a crisp vitality to them that is so resonant of their era. She also has an interesting role in literary history; her brother Roland was the doomed fiance of Vera Brittain, whose brilliant autobiography Testament of Youth is dedicated to his memory. As a birthday present to myself, I bought a first edition of Leighton’s gorgeous Four Hedges this week; I can’t wait for it to arrive so that I can revel in its beauty! – Rachel