Image

During a stroll down the King’s Road this weekend (after a very delicious afternoon tea here) I popped into Anthropologie for a browse. Even when I can’t afford to buy anything, I love just wandering around and looking at all of the beautiful things that are always so imaginatively displayed. Anthropologie doesn’t just sell clothes and homewares; it sells dreams of an alternative life. When I looked at this gorgeous floral number, I imagined myself in my sun drenched garden in Southern California, sipping lemonade and listening to the crash of the waves on the beach just beyond my lawn. When I saw these beautiful plates, I imagined myself at the head of my dining table in my swanky Central London flat, dishing out a delicious meal to my friends as we sat laughing and talking against the background of the city skyline at night. Wouldn’t it be great if the products came with the dreams attached? If so, my hydrangea crops that I picked up on sale would be taking me on a city break to Florence. Unfortunately, the only place they’re going tomorrow is a classroom in Kent. Oh, well. Maybe one day! – Rachel