152 0016An Easter Design for Fortnum and Mason by Edward Bawden, image via here

I’ve been thoroughly enjoying planning some fun adventures for the Easter holidays. Although I’ll have a lot of work to do, I’m trying to balance it out with some play as well. Tickets are booked to see Before the Party at the Almeida theatre and Alice in Wonderland at the Royal Opera House, I’ve got plenty of exhibitions to visit and (very excitingly!), Rachel and I have organised a trip to Charleston and the surrounding area. Also, I recently became a member of the Fry Art Gallery, and I was delighted to receive an invitation to a private view of their exhibition An Outbreak of Talent on Easter Saturday (the exhibition is open to the public on Easter Sunday).  The Fry Art Gallery is located in Saffron Walden, Essex, which sounds charming and would be a lovely trip to make over the Easter weekend (weather and time permitting!). The gallery has been on my list of ‘Places I Want to Visit’ for ages, as it boasts a wonderful collection of works by artists such as Edward Bawden and  Eric and Tirzah  Ravillious.  If you’re interested in supporting the arts in a small way, then for only £5 pounds a year, you can receive a household membership to the gallery, entitling you to interesting newsletters and invitations to private views and events. The gallery is run by volunteers and certainly is a cause worthy of support. An Outbreak of Talent brings together works of Bawden and Ravillious, as well as Enid Marx, Paul Nash and several others. I for one think it would be a super way to start the Easter holidays! – Miranda