tracy's first quilt

Tracy Chevalier’s first quilt 

Tomorrow, Rachel and I are having an Old Fashioned Girls outing to the V&A to hear a talk by writers Tracy Chevalier and Edmund de Waal on Chevalier’s latest novel, The Last Runaway. The novel is inspired by historical quilting and Quakerism, and I can’t wait to read it (I’m awaiting my copy to arrive in the post any day). In researching her novel, Chevalier learnt to quilt herself, and the picture above shows the first quilt she made. It took her about a year to make it entirely by hand: an impressive achievement! I would love to make a quilt myself one day: perhaps this summer (although I think I’d be lazy and use my sewing machine!). This interview Tracy Chevalier did with Cornflower provides more fascinating insight into her latest novel. I really can’t wait to hear her talk, and I am sure Edmund de Waal will be brilliant too. I’m planning to pick up my copy of The Exiles Return by Elisabeth de Waal (Edmund’s grandmother) tomorrow afternoon from  Persephone Books. It’s lovely to have such wonderful choices on my ‘to be read’ pile. – Miranda