TG The Wife 1929

I’m really excited about the next V&A study day I’m going on in a couple of weeks. Last year I went to the Eric Ravilious day, which was magnificent, and I booked onto the follow up, which details the careers of various artists who lived and worked with Ravilious in the Essex village of Great Bardfield, as soon as I got home. Many of these artists have now faded into obscurity, despite their significant talents; Tirzah Ravilious, whose woodcut illustrates this post, is just one of them. Another that I discovered tonight, thanks to the wonderful blog All Things Considered, is Sheila Robinson, whose illustrated version of the fairytale Twelve Dancing Princesses has just been rescued from the Fry Art Gallery‘s archives and published for the first time. A copy is winging its way to me as I write. There are still places on the Great Bardfield study day, if you want to come and learn more; if you can’t make it, read this amazing book instead and you’ll become as obsessed as me with the amazing artists of the 1930s-50s. What a talented bunch they were. – Rachel