ematwork2

Emily Sutton hard at work, image via here

I first discovered the work of Mark Hearld and Emily Sutton on a magical trip to Yorkshire I made with my Mum and Grandmother a few years ago. We stayed in a cottage near Fountains Abbey and toured the countryside in a rented car, eating fish and chips at Whitby, dropping by James Herriot’s house and dreaming of Brideshead Revisited as we toured Castle Howard. One of the most memorable days, however, was when we stumbled upon the fabulous Hornseys’ the Gallery in charming Ripon. I was instantly captivated by the gorgeous prints on display in the gallery, including those of Mark Hearld and Emily Sutton. In the end, though, we settled on works of Ed Kluz and Sarah Young for purchase. Over the years, however, I have so enjoyed collecting numerous cards  and cushion covers featuring Emily’s beautiful work and have read the wonderful children’s book she illustrated to various classrooms. Emily lists early-mid 20th C American children’s illustration, as well as the work of Edward BawdenEric Ravilious and Barbara Jones as sources of her inspiration, and their influence is seen clearly in her beautiful work (this article shows a wide range of Emily’s gorgeous prints and sketches). I was so inspired by my visit to Emily’s house, that I have resigned myself to a diet of baked potatoes  and tofu for a few months and have purchased two of my favourite prints of hers: this one and this one (from Hornseys’, of course – the customer service is truly wonderful, and I can’t recommend the gallery highly enough). I am jumping up and down with excitement waiting for them to arrive!  – Miranda