janet hill

The Sweethearts, Janet Hill

Valentine’s Day is the perfect time to enjoy a sweet treat, and with that in mind, I thought I would share my favourite brownie recipe with you all. Whenever I make these (which is often), I am always asked for the recipe, and I hope if you try them yourself you will see why! They really are delicious.

Miranda’s Brownies

1/2 LB butter

150 g chocolate (good quality, dark)

2 cups sugar

5 eggs

1 cup flour

1 tsp vanilla extract

Set oven to 350F (about 180C). Grease 9 x 13″ pan. Melt chocolate and butter over low heat (or I do it in the microwave). Add sugar and stir until blended. Remove from heat. Beat eggs, add to chocolate mixture. Stir in flour, add vanilla. Pour into pan. Bake in oven for approx. 45 mins (or until a toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean). Cut into squares and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day tomorrow! – Miranda