BrightestLondon_web

This year is the 150th anniversary of the London Underground. Now I no longer have to use it on a daily basis, and contend with overcrowded platforms, other people’s smelly armpits and unpleasant stranger bum-to-bum contact, I can be sentimental about it, and fully appreciate how wonderful it is. It is the defining symbol of our fine capital city, and I find the history of its construction, design and marketing absolutely fascinating. The beautiful posters that were created to advertise the benefits of the tube and the places it could take you in the early decades of the 20th century are my particular interest, and I was delighted to see that next weekend an exhibition of 150 of the Underground’s best poster designs will open at the London Transport Museum. If you can’t make it to London, pick up this wonderful book instead. – Rachel