Alice-Melvin---Seven-Magpie

Magpies in cherry trees chatter and scold. ‘Seven for a secret never to be told!’

As a training-to-be primary school teacher, I am always on the hunt for quality picture books. I was so delighted to discover Alice Melvin’s beautiful counting book, Counting Birds, which is stunningly illustrated, has charming rhymes and is very useful as it is one of the few counting books that takes children up to 20. Melvin has done another delightful publication with Tate Publishing: The High Street, in which young Sally takes a walk on a nostalgic high street, searching for an eclectic mix of wares, from a yellow rose to a garden hose. Eager to find out more about this Edinburgh based artist, I was so pleased to see that Alice Melvin has  produced a range of goods featuring her quirky and endearing prints. I have my eye on these lovely placemats for my kitchen table.  – Miranda