(c) Manchester City Galleries; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

                                                                                                                                                     Flask Walk, Hampstead, Charles Ginner.

It was very snowy this weekend, and, much as I dislike the disruption to transport caused by the weather, I must admit a snow covered London is a very pretty sight. I think one of the best places to enjoy a city Winter Wonderland is Hampstead. I love Hampstead all year round, but there is something truly special about it covered in snow, when people go sledding on the Heath and the fireside roars at the Holly Bush pub. One of the prettiest streets in Hampstead is Flask Walk. I worked in a charming garden shop there for several months and so became very familiar with it. The above picture was painted in the 1920s, but it’s remarkable how little has changed.  – Miranda