knole

Last weekend, some friends came up to stay and enjoy a taste of the Kentish countryside. I love the opportunity to play tour guide, and despite the freezing weather, we had a lovely time wandering through the beautiful surrounding villages and popping to a couple of National Trust properties. My favourite local sight is Knole, home of the Sackville-West family and setting of Virginia Woolf’s novel Orlando. An Elizabethan manor house set in one of the last remaining Royal deer parks, it is a thing of beauty at any time of year. Also a thing of beauty are these gorgeous prints by local artist Melvyn Evans, inspired by Knole. They really capture the feel of this part of Kent, and as much as I miss living in the metropolis, they do make me realise how lucky I am to live in such a pleasant spot. – Rachel